1,000 Books Before Kindergarten 

For those of you lovelies out there that listen to the podcast, you will remember I shared with you all this very cool program at our public library. For those of you that don’t listen to HomeBase Podcast………..seriously I’m concerned, it’s a thing and you don’t want to be that one person missing out do you?! So go skip on over to iTunes and rectify the situation now! JUST DO IT!!! iTunes Link to AWESOMENESS! 

Alright on to this cool program! 

So it’s called 1,000 Books Before Kindergarten and essentially that’s what it is. You get this note book that is numbered 1 – 1,000 and every time you read a book to your child or your child reads a book you log it in the book by writing Title, Author, and Date.  Simple right? Exactly! 

 
What is really cool is when you reach certain milestones like 100 200 500 and so on, you take your log book to the library and they give you a prize! Also it is important to write down any book even if you have read it together loads of times! It doesn’t have to be 1,000 different books (although that would be a cool goal maybe for myself).   So let me guess, you’re sitting there thinking “I wonder if my library does something like this?” Well here are two suggestions: one being if they don’t then tell them about it! Maybe they just need a visionary like yourself to come in with fresh new ideas (you don’t have tell them that you got the idea from me 😉). Secondly you could just do it yourself! Go buy your kids their own super cool notebook to log what they (and you, don’t forget to read to your kids) read. Then reward them once they get to a milestone. 

I think these notebooks will be a great keepsake someday. I know I wish I had one from when I was little. Hope you all love the idea! Be sure to share it via Twitter or Pinterest with all your friends! #readtoyourkids 💕

You Baby Me Mummy
4 thoughts on “1,000 Books Before Kindergarten 

  1. Love this idea, what a great way to celebrate reading with your kids. We always enjoyed reading with the kids when they were young, and they are avid readers now #busydoinglife

  2. What a great idea 🙂 we have a couple of books that list books to read in your childhood and my plan was always to try and tick them off but I like the idea of writing them down 🙂 #busydoinglife x

Leave a Reply

