Agatha Christie

So I am addicted. It all started my freshman year of high school when my English teacher handed out our copies of “And Then There Where None.” We read it for class, I thought it was brilliant! After I graduated high school, I was at a loss one day for what I wanted to read. I thought back to all the amazing books that I read through school and loved: Shakespeare, Homer, Emerson, Agatha. It was on that last name that I decided I was going to spend my next literary adventure. My next Christie was “Murder on the Orient Express.” That was all the push I needed. I was introduced to Hercule Poirot. If you have never had the pleasure of meeting this funny little Belgian than you are missing out on one of the greatest characters of the literary world and a truly entertaining one at that. Reading a Hercule Poirot story is like meeting an old friend that you can depend on and never be disappointed in.

The wonderful thing about most of the Poirot stories is he partners with an equally creative and entertaining character, Captain Hastings. You will fall in love him and his comical narratives of the mysteries that Poirot solves.
All of this set aside we must give Miss Jane Marple our due as well. She is a witty and clever women that is also a pleasure to read. She solves a mystery and presents its solution in such a matter a fact way that you sit and think “Why did I not think of that?” All and all Christie’s books are an utter joy to read! They are impossible to put down I have many times read some of her books in under 24 hours.

So my mission, which I chose to accept, is to read all of Christie’s books before I die. I am 15 books in, which I think is a decent start. There are 91 total so I still have a way to go. I am currently reading “Third Girl” and loving it! There is a reason that Agatha has sold more books than any other author of all time except William Shakespeare. The dame has got style and talent! Pick a book up and check it out this summer, and when you think that there can be no possible solution to the crime remember: “The impossible could not have happened, therefore the impossible must be possible in spite of appearances.” (Hercule Poirot)

Leave a Reply

